I'm quite irritated at the present. I'm cross, I'm vexed, I'm irked, I'm put out and fed up, some may even describe me as "in a huff".
Why?
These stupid election posters up everywhere.
Not all of them, just a few. Just the anti-abortion ones with the pictures of the fetus. Now don't get me wrong, I'm all for freedom of speech, and I think that if people are annoyed about abortions, they have every right to put up pictures of fetuses and whine their hearts out.
However, these particular signs are what I would describe as propaganda. Anti-abortion propaganda. Propaganda is (as far as I know) biased, misleading or false information used to promote a particular view. The information on these posters is misleading at best, downright fraudulent and underhanded at worst.
My first issue? The signs all have a variant of the phrase "stop the killing of unborn babies". *Buzz* wrong. Thanks for playing. A baby is a baby when it is dragged screaming from a vagina. The dictionary defines a baby as a young child, recently born. Recently born. In other words, it's a baby when it's out of the womb. When it's shot out of a vagina-cannon, it's a baby. While it's in the goddamn womb, it's a goddamn fetus.
Second issue.... the second issue is the biggest problem for me. Stop abortions, the signs say. Stop killing babies. Accompanying these charming sentiments is an ultrasound picture of a "baby" at about 8-9 months development, thus implying that we are all running out to abort "babies" when we are 9 months pregnant. Newsflash, this is illegal. The latest anyone can get an abortion in SA is 23 weeks. Certainly not 9 months. Seeing the sign, you assume that the "babies" concerned are "babies" like the one on the sign. Not true. That's kinda as dishonest as telling someone that people abort actual babies, or like having a sign saying "STOP IMMIGRANTS" and coupling it with pictures of Muslim suicide bombers. Not honest. Not even close.
So anyway, now, hopefully, you'll be mad too. Hopefully you're over 18, and hopefully you'll be careful who you vote for.
Friday, February 26, 2010
Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Parents, suck my dick.
Sorry, but I'm irritated with you right now. Not my parents, but parents in general.
Sure, you've had kids, you're parents. However, just because you've produced other human beings, doesn't mean you know more about certain parenting aspects than me. Sure, I haven't had kids, I know. Let me explain... hear me out.....
Anyone can force a child from their vagina. Anyone can ejaculate and impregnate someone. it really doesn't take a genius. So just because you managed to have sex and get pregnant, this doesn't mean you actually know anything about parenting. Sure, you have experience, and you probably know a lot more about some things than I do. However, you aren't the supreme genius of the universe.
Example: You say that you smack your child in the face every time he sneezes. I say that this is a bad idea, because people respond much better to positive reinforcement than punishment. If you punish the child so harshly for something like sneezing, he will associate the punishment with you, rather than with the action, and he will grow up to see you as the idiotic bitch you are, rather than a loving mother. You counter with the stunning argument; "I AM A PARENT, DON'T TELL ME HOW TO LOOK AFTER MY KIDS!! ARE YOU A PARENT? NO! I AM RIGHT! I KNOW WHAT I'M DOING!! I MANAGED TO CONCEIVE A CHILD SO I MUST KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT PARENTING! RAAAA."
So in conclusion, yes, you ARE a parent. Yes, I am NOT a parent. This doesn't mean that you are smarter than me, or other non-parents. This doesn't mean that you should disregard any and all advice. This does not mean that you are actually intelligent. Stupid people can make babies too, and you certainly are stupid people.
----
There, venting over.
Sure, you've had kids, you're parents. However, just because you've produced other human beings, doesn't mean you know more about certain parenting aspects than me. Sure, I haven't had kids, I know. Let me explain... hear me out.....
Anyone can force a child from their vagina. Anyone can ejaculate and impregnate someone. it really doesn't take a genius. So just because you managed to have sex and get pregnant, this doesn't mean you actually know anything about parenting. Sure, you have experience, and you probably know a lot more about some things than I do. However, you aren't the supreme genius of the universe.
Example: You say that you smack your child in the face every time he sneezes. I say that this is a bad idea, because people respond much better to positive reinforcement than punishment. If you punish the child so harshly for something like sneezing, he will associate the punishment with you, rather than with the action, and he will grow up to see you as the idiotic bitch you are, rather than a loving mother. You counter with the stunning argument; "I AM A PARENT, DON'T TELL ME HOW TO LOOK AFTER MY KIDS!! ARE YOU A PARENT? NO! I AM RIGHT! I KNOW WHAT I'M DOING!! I MANAGED TO CONCEIVE A CHILD SO I MUST KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT PARENTING! RAAAA."
So in conclusion, yes, you ARE a parent. Yes, I am NOT a parent. This doesn't mean that you are smarter than me, or other non-parents. This doesn't mean that you should disregard any and all advice. This does not mean that you are actually intelligent. Stupid people can make babies too, and you certainly are stupid people.
----
There, venting over.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
