Sorry, but I'm irritated with you right now. Not my parents, but parents in general.
Sure, you've had kids, you're parents. However, just because you've produced other human beings, doesn't mean you know more about certain parenting aspects than me. Sure, I haven't had kids, I know. Let me explain... hear me out.....
Anyone can force a child from their vagina. Anyone can ejaculate and impregnate someone. it really doesn't take a genius. So just because you managed to have sex and get pregnant, this doesn't mean you actually know anything about parenting. Sure, you have experience, and you probably know a lot more about some things than I do. However, you aren't the supreme genius of the universe.
Example: You say that you smack your child in the face every time he sneezes. I say that this is a bad idea, because people respond much better to positive reinforcement than punishment. If you punish the child so harshly for something like sneezing, he will associate the punishment with you, rather than with the action, and he will grow up to see you as the idiotic bitch you are, rather than a loving mother. You counter with the stunning argument; "I AM A PARENT, DON'T TELL ME HOW TO LOOK AFTER MY KIDS!! ARE YOU A PARENT? NO! I AM RIGHT! I KNOW WHAT I'M DOING!! I MANAGED TO CONCEIVE A CHILD SO I MUST KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT PARENTING! RAAAA."
So in conclusion, yes, you ARE a parent. Yes, I am NOT a parent. This doesn't mean that you are smarter than me, or other non-parents. This doesn't mean that you should disregard any and all advice. This does not mean that you are actually intelligent. Stupid people can make babies too, and you certainly are stupid people.
----
There, venting over.
Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
This is sad.
It's sad that parents firstly use such violence and think it to be good, and secondly that they think that being a parent brings them above the level of reasoning.
I hope punishing children with violence, or violence itself, for that matter, is eventually seen to be a bad thing.
Post a Comment