The more I read about tax, the angrier I get. Maybe I should talk to someone about this, I mean, I don't even pay taxes for god's sake, and I somehow find myself in a state of aggravation over it.
Anyway, more about why I am angry (my, this blog is good for venting... it seems to be all I do...). Say I am a lazy bum. I do nothing all day (not far from the truth). I have a menial job, because I dropped out of high school and didn't bother to get a higher education. I pay a minuscule amount of taxes because I earn virtually no money, because I couldn't be assed making something of myself.
Now, a different scenario... I am rather wealthy. I finished high school, even though it would have been more fun to go off and have fun with my friends. I worked and put myself through uni. Again, it would have been easier to not do uni, but I did it. I am now a super-awesome-mega-ultra-über doctor of AWESOME, and I have to pay 40% of my goddamn awesome money as taxes.
Is this fair? I know I have made some generalizations here... I know that some poor people can't help it, and some rich people are only rich because their mummies and daddies made it so, but still.... Why should someone be punished because they have made a lot of money? They most likely work for that money, why shouldn't they be able to enjoy it?
I think that people have issues with the rich. I admit I am sometimes guilty of it too. There are a small number of people who are very rich, and they are easy to blame.
"ohh these big corporations..."
"ohh damn those CEO's, how dare they EARN money!?"
It's not as easy to actually look for the base of our issues, and find out that they are our own damn fault.
Give those poor rich people a break, eh?
Monday, May 18, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

2 comments:
Good idea, I like the idea of all the poor people having to provide for the entire coutry with their taxes. serves them right for being below a certain income line.
It's kinda like the porn situation. I can't tell you what would work, but I know that this doesn't.
Post a Comment