Friday, July 31, 2009

Angry vs Happy

The battle for the universe!!!

Or not. Maybe just for me. Or not. It's not even a battle really... I doubt even a punch shall be thrown. Perhaps Angry and Happy will even go and grab a beer afterward.

Anyways, you may be wondering what this is about. It's about myself, my angry outbursts, and, surprisingly, Dennis. Bet you didn't see that one coming. Dennis recently composed a rant consisting primarily of happy. He stated:

"That was my extremely-good-mood rant, and it felt better than every extremely-bad-mood rant I've ever done put together."

(Sorry for quoting you without asking Dennis...)

This made me think. All of my blogs seem to be angry outbursts about things. I have these little (or not so little) angry outbursts happen to me every 30mins or so, on average. Sometimes more, sometimes less. In short, I appear to be a very angry person. I wondered if Dennis was on to something.

So I started thinking about myself being angry, and myself being happy. I have decided that I am actually a happy person, despite what my frequent explosions of irritation may suggest. I enjoy just existing, I don't have to be doing anything specific to enjoy myself. My happiness and enjoyment are not reliant on other people. I can make myself happy, and it doesn't take much.

Now for my anger. I have decided, although I'm not sure how correct this is, as I am full of bias, that I am not actually "angry". I get angry at things, but not to the point where I really upset myself. I get angry at some things to help me process them I suppose. Being angry at a news article allows me to rant about it aloud, which can sometimes invite feedback from others, helping me figure out things I may feel about the subject, that I am not aware of yet. Also, speaking things aloud makes it easier for me to figure them out, and figure out how I feel.
My anger also sometimes provides humour for myself. If I make jokes about something completely awful, it helps me talk about it and think about it without becoming incredibly distressed. Humor is, for me, a thinking tool.

All of this does not sound particularly healthy, but I think that is because it is all very tricky to write. I really think I haven't said what I mean at all. However, I have come to a decision about my personality. I say decision, yes. I haven't changed, I know, I'm not saying I am deciding to *do* something, I just don't analyze my personality very often, so when I say I am 'deciding', I mean I am deciding how I am, in the way you would look at an apple and decide that it is red. I have decided that I am not as angry and formidable as I thought I was, I'm actually a happy person.

New and improved ME!! Now with 20% less wrath!!

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Kyle Sandilands = douchefaggery to the extreme

This Sandilands fucktard should be fired. Fired, where his bad hair, flabby chin(s), irritating woman-voice, and stupidity can no longer melt the brains of radio-listeners and television-watchers Australia-wide. Wow... that was a lot of hyphens.

Seriously... Sandilands is like a rash. A bad rash. Just when you thought he was gone, he's back, and more irritating and flaky than ever.

Kyle and his sidekick, the ever-blonde, ever-annoying, ever-pretentious, Jackie O-blivious, once again made jackarses out of themselves. I thought the Frenzal Rhomb incident made them look as stupid as they possibly could. Apparently not. They have a segment of their show where they hook people up to a lie detector, and reveal their secrets. Tasteless, but fair enough, IF the participants are consenting adults. In this case, the participant was not. A 14 year old girl was brought in by her mother, a horribly nosy woman who wanted to know if her darling daughter was shagging. Apparently, this woman is such a bad parent that she has no idea what her daugher is up to, and instead of simply asking her, sitting down for a mother-daughter chat, she has to hook her up to a lie detector on LIVE RADIO. Seriously, what a loser of a parent. If the only way you can discuss issues with your daughter is this, you are what I like to call a BAD PARENT. BAD, BAD, BAD. YOU DO NOT DESERVE CHILDREN. YOU OBVIOUSLY HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO CARE FOR THEM.

Anyways, the mother is not the only irresponsible one here. If a mother came to you (not in that way, Brodie), and said she wanted to know if her daugher was fucking, so she wanted you to hook her up to a lie detector and ask her personal questions of a sexual nature on live radio, would you do it? No. IRRESPONSIBLE. Or, in other words, ASKING FOR A LAWSUIT.

Continuing on then. Sandilands and Jackie O-bnoxious hook up the child to the lie detector. They ask her questions about drugs and sex, until the girl breaks down and admits that she was raped at age 12. The mother KNEW this. BEFORE THE INTERVIEW. If you know your daughter was raped in the recent past, you might guess that putting her on live radio and grilling her on her sexual behaviour MAY lead to adverse psychological effects, such as a breakdown. Maybe this might humiliate her, you know, having ALL OF AUSTRALIA. Revealing her rape to the world may have terrible effects, and CONTINUING TO QUESTION HER after she has revealed this information is possibly the most irresponsible behaviour possible in this situation.

This is all made worse by the fact that the girl OBVIOUSLY did not want to be there. She stated that she was scared, and that she did not want to be there, or partake in the activities. The response? Jackie O-bdurate laughed at her.

Could things get worse? Yes. Jackie O-bfuscate and Kyle Sandilands absconded themselves of all blame. None of it was their responsibility, apparently.

I am unspeakably mad. I hope both of them lose their jobs, and I hope Jackie gets fat.

*angry face*

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Medical student syndrome

Self-diagnosing, ahoy!

Anyways, in the psych exam today, I had an epiphany of sorts. Cognitive dissonance.

I think it is maybe a contributing factor to my emotional state at the present. My behaviour is very out of whack with how I feel. As I said, I am not entirely sure how I feel. There are several different feelings I am feeling at once, and in an attempt to behave in accordance with all of them, I have ended up behaving in a way that is in accordance with none of them.

Even if I figure out how I feel, I will still be acting in conflict with aforementioned feelings.


So I'll end this post on that cheery note.